Gluten Free Frozen Pizza [5 Factors You Can’t Ignore]

Rate this post

Local grocery stores or restaurants now keep a separate section for gluten-free pizza options alongside delicious pizza.

The term ‘gluten,’ let alone ‘gluten-free food,’ may sometimes sound perplexing. However, it has become a common phrase in food in online recipes or restaurant menus.

If you want to know more about gluten-free pizza, gluten-free frozen pizza, or gluten-free pizza delivery, this article might be helpful for you.

What Does Gluten Free Means?

What Does Gluten Free Means

‘Gluten’ is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale- a cross between wheat and rye. The most common foods that contain gluten are

  • Cereal
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Desserts
  • Seasoning mix, and
  • Drinks like beer.

Removing gluten from one’s diet might change the overall fiber intake and other nutrients.

A gluten-free diet is essential for people facing symptoms of celiac disease or other gluten-related medical conditions who haven’t been diagnosed with gluten-related medical conditions.

4 Best Gluten Free Frozen Pizza Option For You

gluten free frozen pizza

If you prefer the simplicity of frozen pizza and maintain a gluten-free diet, you will get plenty of gluten-free frozen pizza options. Some best gluten-free frozen pizzas are:

  1. Against the Grain Gourmet Gluten-Free Pizza: It makes both 10-inch and 12-inch pizzas with cheese baked right into the dough.
  1. Amy’s Kitchen Gluten-Free Frozen Pizzas- Provides a wide range of gluten-free frozen pizza flavors in both large and single-serve sizes containing less than 20ppm of gluten.
  1. Banza Gluten-Free Frozen Pizza- It is plant-based cheese pizza with chickpeas in the crust and the standards set by the Food & Drug Administration (FDA).
  1. California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-Free Frozen Pizza- This offers fresh and frozen pizza. The pizza crusts are made with cauliflower, chickpeas, tapioca starch, and rice starch.

Gluten Free Frozen Pizza: 5 Things You Need to Know

Gluten Free Frozen Pizza 5 Things You Need to Know

People are more concerned about the complications caused by gluten and trying to switch to a gluten-free diet.

However, embracing a gluten-free diet doesn’t mean that you have to quit your favorite foods. All you need to do is to find a satisfactory gluten replacement.

This same rule goes for everyone’s beloved pizza. It is comparatively a healthier option, although dietary experts say that consuming excessively processed gluten-free foods can lead to weight gain.

1. Gluten Free Crust

One of the main ingredients of pizza is its crust which is traditionally prepared with wheat flour to give it a tempting spongy texture. Without wheat flour, the pizza crust might not taste the same.

Instead of wheat flour, the crust of the gluten-free pizza is made with potato or tapioca starch which is gluten-safe alternatives. It can also contain several ingredients like almonds, rice, beans, and corn.

2. Gluten Free Pizza Dough

Traditional pizza dough is made with 60% liquid, whereas to make gluten-free pizza crust, the ratio is around 130%.

The flour and water create a chemical reaction to provide the dough with a structured texture allowing it to rise when regular pizza dough is mixed. This helps to give regular pizza bread a thick, soft, extremely fluffy structure alongside a crispy edge.

Gluten-free flour tends to be highly absorbent, resulting in flat and stiff pizza providing a chewy crust. The additional condensation gives the crust a better texture but makes it difficult to shape. It will be required to use oiled parchment and spread it by hand or with the help of a rubber spatula.

3. Baking Techniques

The pizza crust needs to be baked before adding toppings. However, if you make a gluten-free pizza with cheese, sauce, and tasty toppings, its marginal caloric value will be different.

While making gluten-free pizza, you can use different techniques. One of the most popular techniques is the standard dough method, where you will need various flours with liquid and a rising agent like yeast to combine.

Some extra ingredients, namely psyllium husk, can be added to give the dough an elasticity similar to the traditional dough.

Gluten Free Flour vs Regular Flour

Regarding gluten-free baking, gluten-free flours are not similar to traditional flour because they need more liquid or eggs to get the desired texture.

The finest ingredients are white rice flour or brown rice flour, which can give a neutral-tasting base. Brown rice flour has a subtle nutty flavor and specific proteins similar to gluten.

Tapioca Starch vs Potato Starch

Tapioca starch takes shape at a lower temperature giving the traditional texture. On the other hand, potato starch takes shape at high temperatures making the dough tender and soft. Dry milk powder provides the crust structure and intensifies the flavor’s depth.

You can purchase a batch of gluten-free multi-purpose flour or whip it up so that you can use it when your cravings hit you. If you have a multi-purpose gluten-free flour blend, you can prepare gluten-free pizza on your own.

This recipe will take no longer than 15 minutes to prepare and less than 15 minutes to bake, and it makes over a 9-inch pizza with a thicker crust or a 12-inch pizza.

4. Gluten Free Sauce

As the sauce is another primary ingredient in pizza, it also needs to be gluten-free to ensure that the pizza is safe for those who want to avoid gluten.

Generally, pizza sauce does not contain gluten, like tomato base sauce. However, some pizza sauces might contain gluten.

If you are not sure whether it contains gluten or not, you must check the label for a gluten-free designation on the container or contact the manufacturer. With a dependable gluten-free soy sauce, one can cast up layers of savory flavor to a dish without getting stressed about gluten intolerance.

Besides this, there are many ways to get the full-flavored umami flavor without gluten.

5. Gluten Free Toppings

Toppings are essential to consider while baking or ordering gluten-free pizza because the pizza crust might be gluten-free, but the toppings are not. Mozzarella cheese is gluten-free, so that one can consume it undoubtedly.

You might wonder what type of toppings and garnishes you should select for gluten-free pizza. Here is a list of different topics you can use without a second thought.

Why Is Gluten Free Essential For You?

Why Is Gluten Free Essential For You

Celiac disease is one kind of chronic condition. When people with celiac disease consume gluten, an allergic reaction damages their bodies due to the activation of the immune system against gluten.

Choosing a gluten-free option can come with a bunch of health benefits—several satisfying fiber-rich whole grains, such as lentils, quinoa, and rice.

One can use coconut, garbanzo, or almond for gluten-free baking. They are delicious as well as loaded with nutritional benefits.

Some people claim that a gluten-free diet can improve health, increase energy and help to lose weight.

Enhanced energy level

Gluten-free food is easy to digest, which helps to absorb nutrients in the human body. This allows more energy when it flows into the bloodstream.

Decreased bloating

Eliminating gluten from the diet can help prevent bloating, as gluten influences bloating.

Better skin

Consuming gluten-free food helps to reduce inflamed skin, rash, and acne. In addition, gluten-free food helps improve skin conditions like eczema, hives, and alopecia areata.

Gluten Free Alternatives to Pizza

Gluten free meats

  • Chicken
  • Salami
  • Lamb
  • Bacon, pancetta, and back bacon
  • Pepperoni
  • Ham and prosciutto
  • Shrimp
  • Italian sausage

Gluten free vegetables and fruits

  • Tomatoes
  • Green and red peppers
  • Hot peppers
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Artichokes
  • Spinach
  • Black olives, green olives, Kalamata olives
  • Pineapple

Gluten free cheeses

  • Mozzarella and smoked mozzarella
  • Provolone
  • Feta
  • Cheddar
  • Gorgonzola

Gluten Free and Keto

Gluten Free and Keto

Those on a keto diet can consume gluten-free pizza because many keto-friendly pizzas are gluten-free.

You can eat gluten-free pizza dough, but the recipe must be significantly low in carbohydrates. Most people try to intake between 20 and 50 grams of carbohydrates in a ketogenic diet.

However, some gluten free pizzas contain more than 20 grams of carbohydrates in just a single slice. Some 10-inch pepperoni gluten and grain-free pizza hold 112 grams of net carbs for the whole pizza, which means 28 grams per serving.

With the growing demand for the ketogenic diet, several chain restaurants are trying to establish gluten-free pizza for those on the keto diet.

Final Words

You need to ensure its nutritional value when it comes to gluten-free frozen pizza. You can order gluten-free pizza, but it is also simple to make gluten-free at home if you follow the procedure thoroughly.

You may feel deprived when you have an allergy to gluten or celiac disease because you may not easily find restaurants with gluten-free frozen pizza delivery.

But it is also remarkable that some restaurants provide this benefit so that you don’t feel deprived.