Pepperoni is one of the most widely used pizza toppings. But Muslims always remain in a dilemma ‘is pepperoni halal?’ without a definite answer.
Some experts say that pepperoni is not halal because of the pork content, while others argue that pepperoni can be made without pork products. So, what is the truth? Is it halal or haram (forbidden)? We will find the answer throughout this article.
In short, pepperoni is not halal due to its primary ingredients, pork, and its making procedure. However, many companies make halal beef pepperoni, an excellent alternative for Muslims. However, it tastes heavenly; halal pepperoni is more expensive than regular pork pepperoni.
Before deep diving, let’s see the halal pepperoni ingredients and nutritional facts per 14 slices.
|Ingredients||Nutritional Facts Per 14 Slices|
|Certified Halal Beef||Fat- 13 gm|
|Water||Saturated fat- 6 gm|
|Tapioca starch||Carbohydrate- 2 gm|
|Salt||Protein- 7 gm|
|Modified corn starch||Cholesterol- 60 mg|
|Pea protein||Sodium- 460 mg|
Source: analysis of Springersmeats’ Halal All Beef Pepperoni and Midamar Halal Beef Pepperoni to prepare this table.
What Does Halal Meat Mean?
Before discovering whether the pepperoni is halal or haram, you should understand what halal meat is.
Halal meat refers to meat that has been slaughtered according to Islamic law. This law applies to both the location and the method of slaughter. Besides, the type of animal used for food also is countable. Some meats are prohibited in Islam, such as pork.
Here are several rules that govern the process of halal meat production-
- The animals must be healthy before they are slaughtered.
- All equipment must be sterilized and free of contaminants. Halal slaughter methods are supposed to cause the animal less pain than traditional slaughter methods and must be performed using a sharp knife.
- The animal must be alive before being slaughtered and must not be stunned.
- The animal must be bled out after it’s slaughtered.
- Halal meat must be sourced from animals not involved in any type of forbidden activity. For instance, animals that have not been fed any animal by-products.
So, is your pepperoni meat coming in a halal way? Let’s see the pepperoni ingredients and decide whether it is halal or haram.
Is Pepperoni Halal?
Whether pepperoni is halal or haram depends on the meats used in it. Here comes the question – is pepperoni beef or pork?
Pepperoni is a spicy salami or sausage made with cured pork and paprika or chili peppered beef.
So, all the liquids from the meat, including blood, are removed. This drying process complies with Islamic law. However, the traditional pepperoni recipe contains different issues that prohibit Muslims from eating it.
Usually, the meat to fat ratio in pepperoni is 70% and 30%, and the butchers need to use the right cuts to produce perfect pepperoni. Pepperoni usually comes in brisket and steak.
As we have mentioned earlier, traditionally, pepperoni has pork in it, which is forbidden in Islam. And due to the usage of pork, it is not halal.
However, pepperoni can be made from only beef too. But there is no way to know whether the animal was slaughtered in the Islamic way or the religion of the person handling the meat.
In other words, it is not just the pork that makes traditional pepperoni haram. The preparation procedure is also another factor in deciding even if the pepperoni is made from beef.
Even if you find a pepperoni solely made from beef, you will have to know how they killed the animal, what the animal’s condition was, how the animal was raised, and whether the cow was fed any animal by-products.
Many Muslim overlook these to deciding the halal meat, and most of them just avoid pork.`
Furthermore, whether beef or pork pepperoni, prohibited (by Islam) ingredients might also be used to prepare pepperoni. For example, sometimes gelatin is found in pepperoni, which is forbidden in Islam.
In addition to that, a red food colorant, carmine, may also be found in pepperoni. It is made from insects, which is forbidden in Islam.
Pepperoni is a cured meat, and different curing agent is used to curing the pepperoni meat. However, high-quality pepperoni is cured with salt, which is okay in Islam.
On the other hand, low-quality pepperoni may use different chemical curing agents considered haram.
Thankfully, many companies in the world make halal pepperoni, and they mark the label as “Halal” while packaging. And it is the only way to ensure you are eating halal pepperoni.
What is Halal Pepperoni Made Of?
When we hear pepperoni, a question always pops up in mind – is pepperoni always pork? Not really.
The main ingredients for halal pepperoni are always beef, turkey, chicken, or lamb. However, technically, pepperoni made of chicken or turkey can’t be called “pepperoni,” as it is always made with pork or beef.
But Muslims can eat those chicken or turkey as an alternative. Whether the pepperoni is made from beef, chicken, or turkey, the meat should be processed in a halal way.
The slaughtering should be performed with a sharp knife or other instruments that ensure a quick death. In addition to that, the animal should not suffer but remain conscious. During the slaughter, the person must recite the prayer.
Furthermore, preparation also plays a vital role in preparing halal pepperoni. For example, the blood must be thoroughly removed and should not use any forbidden (as per Islamic law) ingredients.
Can You Get Halal Pepperoni?
As a staple of pizza, the popularity of pepperoni has increased, and the demand for halal pepperoni also increased. You can get halal pepperoni in supermarkets or Muslim stores around the world.
However, you don’t always have to head to your local grocery store to satisfy your halal pepperoni cravings. You can order this favorite snack online too. The best place to buy halal pepperoni online is probably Amazon, and you can also purchase in bulk and save even more money.
If you ask for a recommendation for the best halal pepperoni, we suggest Midamar fully cooked sliced pepperoni. It is made with top-quality meats and doesn’t contain organ meat, MSG, or fillers. Hence the premium quality meat ensures all the nutrients.
Here are more options for halal pepperoni that you can buy and eat without suspicion.
Does Halal Mean No Pork?
While most people will assume that halal means no pork, the truth is that the term “Halal” is much broader than we think. However, halal always means that the food doesn’t have any pork.
In addition to that, halal food doesn’t contain any forbidden ingredients that Islam prohibits.
If you are looking to avoid pork, you will want to make sure that you are purchasing a halal product.
Is Pepperoni Halal In Domino’s?
Depending on the location, Domino’s serve halal pepperoni on their pizzas. For example, some Domino’s stores in the US Muslim community use 100% halal products. The same goes for the other parts of the world too.
However, in Muslim countries, Domino’s sources their product locally and use certified halal ingredients in their pizzas.
You cannot decide whether a pepperoni is halal or not by looking at it. So, it is normal to get confused. That is why you should always ask before ordering. If the store cannot answer confidently, it is safe to take regular cheese or vegetable pizza.
Now that you know the answer to “is pepperoni halal,” you can source halal pepperoni as a healthier alternative to regular pepperoni. And, It can be a great choice for those looking for something different and special in their pizza toppings.
So, if you’re looking for halal pepperoni, be sure to check out your local Muslim grocery store. Whether you buy from a Muslim or a regular grocery store, reading labels is very important as the label will strictly mention if the meat is halal or not.